What Common Snacks Are Gluten-Free? | Prime Planet
logo_primePlanet

What Common Snacks Are Gluten-Free?

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, and rye. It is also a common ingredient in many processed foods, including snacks. Unfortunately, it is intolerable and even dangerous for people with gluten sensitivity or celiac disease¹. Going gluten-free can be a bit of a challenge, especially when it comes to finding snacks that are safe to eat. However, there are many delicious gluten-free snacks available that are easy to find and enjoy.

Fruits and Vegetables

Fresh fruits and vegetables are naturally gluten-free and make for a healthy and delicious snack. Apples, berries, grapes, and citrus fruits are great options, as well as carrots, celery, cucumbers, and bell peppers. Many grocery stores now offer pre-cut and packaged options, making them convenient to grab and go. 

Nuts and Seeds

Nuts and seeds are also a great gluten-free snack option. They are high in protein and healthy fats, which makes them both satisfying and filling. Almonds, walnuts, cashews, and pistachios are all sensible options, as well as sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, and flaxseeds. These are also terrific toppings for yogurts and salads if you are looking for alternatives to granola or croutons, which can both contain gluten. 

Popcorn 

Popcorn is a flavorful gluten-free snack option that can be enjoyed in various ways. It’s a whole grain, high in fiber, and generally low in calories. Opt for plain popcorn and add flavor with herbs, spices, or a little bit of melted butter or cheese (if you do not have lactose intolerance or are vegan.

Gluten-Free Crackers

Many gluten-free cracker options are available, including rice crackers, corn crackers, and crackers made from gluten-free grains such as quinoa, millet, and amaranth. These delicious crackers can all be enjoyed with gluten-free dips or topped with cheese or avocado. 

Gluten-Free Granola Bars

Many granola bars contain gluten, but with the growth in gluten-free diets and concerns about celiac disease, many brands have developed gluten-free options. Look for bars made with gluten-free oats, nuts, seeds, and dried fruits. These bars are excellent options for quick, on-the-go snacks. 

Gluten-Free Tostone Chips

Many chips and dips contain gluten, but an array of gluten-free options are also available. Corn tortilla chips and potato chips are generally gluten-free. However, many people are unaware that tostone chips are gluten-free and a delicious snack they can indulge in safely. Pair your plantain chips with a gluten-free dip, like hummus or guacamole. You can also use tostone chips as the main ingredient in a gluten-free recipe like Tostone Breakfast Sliders or Mini Jibarito Sandwiches

Gluten-Free Jerky

Many types of jerky contain gluten. Look for jerky made from beef, turkey, or chicken with no gluten-containing ingredients. 

When shopping for gluten-free snacks, it’s important to read nutritional labels carefully and ‘may include’ labels. Many packaged snacks may contain gluten or be made in facilities where gluten-containing products are processed. However, with the variety of options available, it’s easy to find delicious gluten-free snacks, such as plantain chips or crackers, that can make going gluten-free easy.

Source:

  1. About Celiac Disease – WebMD – November 19, 2022

Related Readings: 

Get the Scoop on Snack Trends

You Need to Know!

Discover the latest snack food trends
Complete the form below





Business Unit:
Source:


By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Prime Group, 1301 NW 84th Ave., Miami, FL, 33126, http://www.primegroup.aero. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact